Thoughts on Comedy Central’s Broad City

When I first saw commercials about Broad City, the popular web series turned television show starring UCB alums, Ilana Glazer and Abbi Jacobson, I was really excited for it to premiere on Comedy Central.

One of the reasons I was excited was due to the fact that Broad City is executive produced by Amy Poehler, who I’ve been a fan of since her SNL days and is also the star of one of my favorite sitcoms, Parks and Rec (which I highly recommend). Not only that, but it seems that Comedy Central has been firing on all cylinders in the past couple of years with the shows it has been putting on the air. With Comedy Central picking up shows like Key & Peele, Workaholics, Inside Amy Schumer, and the Kroll Show, I was confident Broad City would be a winner, and I was right.

To briefly summarize the plot of the show, Broad City follows the friendship of two twenty something women as they live their lives in New York and deal with the common issues of young adults such as money, roommates, and relationships. After seeing the first scene of the show where Ilana and Abbi are talking over Skype about buying Lil Wayne tickets while Ilana is simultaneously having sex with her “friend with benefits” Lincoln (Hannibal Buress), I was all in.

Since the premiere episode, the show has been well written and has also done a good job at establishing the dynamic between the two main characters. Whether they’re cleaning a creepy man’s apartment for money, searching the city for a lost cell phone, or almost being apart of an orgy (yes, you heard me right), Abbi and Ilana are willing to do anything for each other and it is exhibited on the show.

Broad city is seven episodes into the first season and other than one episode that was somewhat of a dud (“pu$$y weed” didn’t do it for me), all the episodes have been funny and extremely entertaining to watch. With the news that Broad City has been renewed for a second season, it looks like Ilana and Abbi will be on Comedy Central for a while, which is fine by me.

“Link to first episode of Broad City”

