Top 10 Games From My Childhood

Game Collage2

Back when I was a Wee Lad (I’ve always wanted to say that), video games took up a lot of my time; So much so that it took me awhile to grow out of my antisocial ways. Personality issues aside, video games were a huge part of my childhood and here are my 10 favorites from back in the day. Enjoy the trip down memory lane ūüôā

 

10. Tekken 3

Hwoarang is the GREATEST! Sorry, but I had to get that out of my system.

Even though I rarely play fighting games because they feel repetitive to me, something about Tekken 3 made me want to keep playing it for hours. It was probably the characters that I like the most because they were unique and didn’t feel generic. The characters plus the gratification I get by kicking someone in the face with Hwoarang (did I mention he is the greatest?) is what made this game so enjoyable.

 

9. Mario Kart: Double Dash

Racing games feel just as repetitive to me as fighting games but just like Tekken 3, Mario Kart: Double Dash had me hooked. What I liked about Double Dash was the fact you can pair up whatever characters you want together. Nothing was more fun than using Baby Mario’s Chain Chomp to knock people over and then use Bowser Jr’s giant Bowser Shell to knock people over. Just me talking about it right now makes me want to play it again.

 

8.  Crash Bandicoot 3: Warped

Me and Crash had some good times in the late 90’s. I played all the Crash Bandicoot games that were released for the Ps1 but what made this Crash game my favorite over the others was the variety of the levels and how you played them. Whether I was¬†shooting down planes in a fighter jet, competing in a motorcycle race, or riding on top of a baby tiger, I was excited because I didn’t know what the next level would bring.

 

7. The Rugrats: Search for Reptar

I was a HUGE fan of Rugrats when I was a kid and what made this game so much fun for me when I was younger was the fact that the game had levels that were based on episodes of the show. You could play hide and seek as Chuckie, play one-on-one football against Angelica, and even be part of Angelica’s Circus. Playing through the game was like controlling the show in a way which is what I enjoyed the most. You also could play golf….just saying.

 

6.  Kirby 64: The Crystal Shards

I don’t think there has ever been a Kirby game that I’ve played that I didn’t thoroughly enjoy. It’s pretty hard to hate a Kirby game; you play as a guy who can copy over 20 different abilities and fight against enemies with these newly acquired abilities. What made Kirby 64 so special was the fact that you could combine powers together to create whole new powers. Most of my time playing Kirby was spent ¬†mixing powers together to see what Kirby could do with them. Even though the game was fairy short and lacked re-playability, I never got sick of this game.

 

5.  Super Mario Bros

This game is probably on a lot of people’s top 10 favorite games, but their reasons are probably different than mine. What made this one of my top 5 favorite games was because me and my dad would play it together all the time. Sometimes I think he enjoyed playing the game more than I did because often times I would come home from school and he would be in my room already playing. Me and my dad spending so much time together playing this game made it that much more fun.

 

4. Sonic Adventure 2

To this day, I can’t get that City Escape song out of my head; it’s impossible for it not to get stuck in anyone’s head. Just so you don’t think I’m crazy, here’s a link to the song; Listen if you dare.

Anyway, Sonic Adventure 2 is on this list because I enjoyed the option of playing the game as Sonic and the heroes or as Shadow and the villains.  The way that the game was separated into running for Sonic/Shadow, robot fighting with Tails/Eggman, and hunting with Knukles/Rouge was entertaining and caused the game to not become stale.  I even enjoyed raising Chao in the Chao garden, even though I might be alone on that one.

 

3. Nba Live Series

I didn’t pick a specific NBA Live because a new game was released every year so it is hard to really have a favorite but trust me I played a lot of NBA live in my day. Basketball is my favorite sport to watch, so it is only natural that I would be interested in the NBA live games. People who play the NBA games know what I mean when I say that the soundtracks of these games are burned in my brain due to the massive amount of hours I logged while playing. I’ve moved on to NBA 2K because NBA Live has been irrelevant since about 2010, but NBA live was definitely the series that made me love playing NBA games on my Ps2.

 

2. Super Smash Bros Melee

Even though I played the original Super Smash Bros almost as much as Melee, Melee is number two on my list because it took the concept of the original game and expanded on it and took it to new heights. This game was so fun for me because there were so many different things to do. In fact, there was so much to do that it would take forever to list them all in this post. Some of my favorite things to do however was Adventure mode for single player or for multi-player it was fun to play tiny melee or lightning melee.

Another thing that made Melee so special to me was the incredible music that was played for each of the stages.

My personal favorite is “Mother 2” which you can listen to above but I also like Green Greens, Fire Emblem, Mushroom Kingdom, Rainbow Cruise, and Jungle Japes.

Super Smash Bros Melee always kept me entertained and was one of the best games I’ve ever played. One of these days I’m gonna buy a Gamecube just so I can play it again.

PS: I will beat ANYONE with Kirby, seriously…..I’m not kidding.

 

1.Pokemon Silver Version

I don’t know where to start.

It all started on my 8th birthday when my dad bought me a Gameboy and Pokemon Red version. Pokemon Red, Blue, and Yellow were fun, but it was the second generation games, specifically Pokemon Silver that started my obsession. This was my favorite Pokemon game because not only could you go through the Johto Region but after you beat the Elite Four, you can go back to the Kanto Region, beat the original 8 gym leaders, catch the legendary Pokemon from that region and even battle Red himself.

I honestly can’t tell you how many hours I spent playing this game but I can tell you that I went through a lot of batteries playing this game. Out of all the games on this list, I spent the most time staring at a screen because of this one.

Pokemon Silver also introduced Pokemon eggs into the game which made the game more exciting because when I got that first egg in Goldenrod city, I didn’t know what was coming out. With eggs being introduced, popular baby Pokemon like Elekid, Magby, and Pichu were introduced as well.

Pokemon Silver is my favorite game from my childhood because Pokemon was my favorite video game franchise when I was younger and in my eyes, Silver was the best of the best.

 

Honorable Mention

Super Mario World 2 (Gameboy Advance)

Jet Moto (PS1)

Pokemon Yellow (Gameboy)

 

