The Lazy Game of Thrones Recap: Come at Me, Snow!

ReintroduceHeader

HOLY S***


 

This was the BEST episode of the season so far and by a pretty wide margin. The last 30 minutes of Hardhome was some of the most entertaining television I’ve ever seen on any TV show, let alone Game of Thrones. But, we’ll get to that later because there were a lot of other exciting things that happened in the episode as well. Tyrion and Daenerys discuss strategy, Arya sells Oysters, and ALL HELL breaks loose in Hardhome.

LET THE RECAP BEGIN!!!

Meereen: Nothing made me happier this week than finally seeing Tyrion and Daenerys having a discussion over how to make Dany the Leader of Westeros. We all knew it was going to happen some time this season, but to actually see it was awesome. I literally couldn’t stop smiling.  It was a smart move by Dany to make Tyrion her advisor because no one knows politics better than Tyrion Lannister.  

Tyriontargarian

The fact that the first thing he started to explain to her was how no one in her family is alive and she has no allies in all of Westeros showed me that Tyrion is going to put Dany on the right track to becoming the Queen and hopefully Varys will show up in Meereen one of these days.  I’m not sure what Daenerys’s next move is going to be under the new advice from Tyrion, but I’m excited to see it. It does suck that Jorah got kicked out of Meereen (again), but it doesn’t look like he has given up yet. They don’t call him “King Friendzone” for nothing! 

Sansa: Just like I’ve been waiting for Tyrion and Dany to meet each other, I’ve also been waiting for Sansa to find out that Bran and Rickon aren’t dead. I wasn’t sure if Theon would actually tell her due to fear of repercussions from Ramsay, but thankfully he did. Does this make up for getting that woman flayed…….probably not. 

sansareek

King’s Landing: Of all the things that went on in this episode, one of the things that made me the happiest was seeing Cersei in that dungeon. I enjoyed it for a multitude of reasons and one of those reasons being that this was the first time in a while that Cersei had something not go her way.

CerseiScream

There also doesn’t seem like there’s a way out of this outside of confessing to incest, adultery, murder, etc. She seems adamant against doing that, but unless Tommen finds a way to get her released, she doesn’t have any other choice. Oh well, sucks to be her! 🙂 

Arya: Arya spent this week learning to become a different person for her mission and that person is named Lana.

She had to learn and memorize everything there was to know about Lana before she could go out into the city and she was smacked if she said a detail wrong about her new identity.  Lana is a woman who sells oysters to the people of Braavos by the seashore, but I don’t think she sells seashells by the seashore…..I’ll show myself out.

Lanaaaaaaaaaa

Before seeing who her target is, Jaqen H’ghar makes sure she knows every different way to get around the area by making her take different alleys to get to where he is. She finally meets her target and it’s a man who is scamming sea captains out of money through insurance (been there, right guys?) After relaying the information to Jaqen H’ghar, he informs her that she is going to poison him and hands her the poison to do it. Then Arya Lana walks away with a big grin that I can only compare to that creepy a** cat from Alice in Wonderland. Needless to say, Arya is REALLY looking forward to this and so am I, is that weird?

Jon Snow: The other stuff in Hardhome was good, but the only thing people are going to be talking about is that EPIC fight between Jon Snow, the Wildlings, and the White Walkers. First, let me talk about everything that led to that. When Jon Snow and the Wildlings reach Hardhome, they aren’t exactly welcomed with open arms. In fact, the very first interaction they have ends with a murder, so this alliance is going to take some time. Once they’re all inside, Jon Snow makes the case as to why the rest of the Wildlings should agree to help the members of the Night’s Watch.

meeting

Even though it took Mormund to persuade the rest of them to agree to Jon Snow’s request, I was really impressed with how he was handling being in a very hostile environment while never showing an ounce of fear. The growth of his character this season has been amazing to see and I hope it continues in the future.

BossSnow

Now, let’s get to the good stuff!When I saw that white walker’s face through that hole in the wall, the first thing I thought was ‘crap, this isn’t going to end well.” I was only expecting a quick fight with a couple of white walkers, but instead we get a 25-minute war between the Wildlings and the white walkers. I had so many emotions throughout this fight, specifically the scenes involving Jon. I had a sinking feeling in the bottom of my stomach that he was going to die, so when he started fighting one of the head white walkers one-on-one, I braced myself for the worst.

 Untitledwalker

Luckily, that Valyrian steel saved his life because without it, he would definitely be dead right now. Actually he would have become a white walker. Now that I think about it, that would’ve been kind of cool to see a white walker version of Jon Snow. But I digress, the episode ends with a staring contest between Jon and one of the white walkers. Not sure who won the staring contest, but my money is on the dead guy.

See you next week…….

DON’T FORGET TO LIKE THIS POST IF YOU ENJOYED IT AND IF YOU DIDN’T, JUST LIKE IT ANYWAY FOR FUNSIES! 

RANDOM THOUGHTS
  • When is Dany getting married anyway???
  • I hate Oysters!
  • Are Margaery and Cersei next door neighbors???
  • I hope Tyrion and Dany become BFF’s
FOLLOW THE  LAZY FANATIC TWITTER @LAZYFANATIC AND FOLLOW MY PERSONAL TWITTER @ORIGINALRASHAD
