Lazy Reads: Comic Book Edition!

LazyReadsCMX

I’ve started to read a lot of comic books over the past week and I’m quickly growing an addiction. I have a huge appreciation for original stories, complex characters, and character development, and seeing how comic books are  well known for that,  I decided to invest some time into finding new comics to read. In no way am I saying that these are the best comics out today, but these are the few that have caught my eye so far. Some are old and some are new, but they’re all awesome….in my opinion.


1. Stray Bullets

straybulletspage

Summary: The Baltimore underworld is falling apart at the seams and blood has been spilt. Where and when things went to hell in a handbasket can be traced back to a time a few years earlier, when a man named Harry ran the city, Spanish Scott and Monster enforced the rules, and an insecure young man named Orson met a wild and crazy girl named Beth. The two together cooked up the boldest, most outlandish, and just about the stupidest plan ever devised—a plan to steal a whole lot of Harry’s money and drugs and get a little revenge along the way.

 

2. Black Canary
blackcanarypage

Summary: Dinah Lance hits the road! After years as a soldier and vigilante, the LAST place Dinah saw herself is on stage…but she’s quickly learning she’d die to protect the gang of misfits she’s fallen into. And she just might have to – for some reason, the newly rechristened band Black Canary seems to be a magnet for trouble…and Dinah’s not gonna believe it when she finds out the reason why!

Why I like it: Black Canary is in a band, what else do you need???

3. Justice League of America

jlapage

Summary: It’s massive widescreen JUSTICE LEAGUE action and adventure from superstar writer/artist Bryan Hitch! In the extra-sized debut issue, the League comes up against an armada of aliens heading for Earth that claims to be a peaceful religious tribe. But something sinister is lurking in their ranks…something with ties to ancient Krypton!

Why I like it: Ever since I watched Justice League Unlimited when I was younger, I’ve loved almost anything that had to do with the Justice League. Flash & Batman together? I’m sold!

4. Deadly Class

deadlyclasspage

Summary: Welcome to the most brutal high school on Earth, where the world’s top crime families send the next generation of assassins to be trained. Murder is an art. Killing is a craft. At King’s Dominion High School for the Deadly Arts, the dagger in your back isn’t always metaphorical, nor is your fellow classmates’ poison. 

Why I like it: It’s like regular high-school, except everyone in the school are trained murderers…you know, high-school. 

 

5. Robin: Son of Batman

robinpage

 

Summary: The son of a Bat and a Demon, Damian al Ghul has set out to forge his own destiny – and atone for the shameful Year of Blood! Will he be aided or hindered by the behemoth Goliath? And what mysterious legacy trails behind him?

Why I like it: If there’s one thing you need to know about me is that I love everything Robin. Tim Drake, Dick Grayson, Damian Wayne, I don’t care; If it’s about Robin, I’m all in! 

Honorable Mention:

Southern Bastards
southernbastardspage

Summary: Welcome to Craw County, Alabama, home of Boss BBQ, the state champion Runnin’ Rebs football team…and more bastards than you’ve ever seen. When you’re an angry old man like Earl Tubb, the only way to survive a place like this…is to carry a really big stick.

Why I like it: I like Violence & BBQ


What are some comics that you recommend? I’m a fan of all genres except maybe Sci-fi (sorry Sci-fi fans.) Let me know your recommendations in the comments below! 

 

