My Top 10 Favorite Android Apps

androidtop10

If there is one thing you should know about me, it’s that I’m a huge fan of all things Android, especially apps. I love that Android devices allow you to install third-party apps made from other companies because a lot of the time, the default apps on Android phones and tablets just aren’t that great. Because of that, I decided to make a list of my 10 favorite apps to use on Android phones (and sometimes tablets.)

PS: These apps aren’t in any particular order and aren’t all necessarily Android exclusive apps.


Messenger


googlemessenger

As you’ll notice while reading through this list, I’m a huge fan of Google’s material design. It has a very simple look while still being very aesthetically pleasing. Most of the notable texting apps on Android don’t use the material design, and the few that do don’t look as good as the Google Messenger app. My favorite part of the app is that every contact in your phone will have their own separate color when texting.

Link to Play Store

Pocket Casts


Pocket-Cast-5.1-01
Podcasts are more popular than they’ve ever been before. Because of that, it’s important to find an app that not only allows you to listen the way you want, but you want the interface to look good as well. Android apps like Stitcher, Podcast addict, and Podkicker get the job done for the most part, but Pocket Casts is definitely a cut above the rest. Not only does the app showcase a beautiful  (material) design, the app has a lot of features under the hood. Some of the features includes increasing playback speed, removing silent moments to shorten playback, and a feature known as Volume Boost, which allows you to increase the speech volume of the podcasts you’re listening to. The best part of those features is that you can apply those settings to your different podcasts individually or just apply the features to all of them.

Link to Play Store

Giza 


giza


While the default Twitter app for Android is solid, it leaves a lot to be desired which is where Giza comes in.  What I like most about Giza other than the material design of the UI, is the ability to view Instagram photos that people tweet within the app. Giza also let’s you choose between a light or dark theme and also offers an in-app browser. If you’re looking for a twitter client with the modern google design, Giza is a worthy alternative.

Link to Play Store

Relay for Reddit


relay
Finding a Reddit app that does everything you want it to is a hassle for any smartphone user, let alone android users. I tried Reddit sync, Reddit is fun, and bacon reader, but none of those apps were good enough in my opinion. But one day, I discovered Relay for reddit and I haven’t looked back since. Thanks to the material design UI, all of the news from my subreddits are easy to go through without hurting my eyes like the website of Reddit tends to do. Another feature that Relay has is the option to customize the colors of the user interface while also being able to filter your content by hiding posts from specific subreddits or specific keywords. While there are plenty of Reddit apps on android to choose from, Relay is the only one that actually makes me want to check reddit on my phone.

Link to Play Store

Shuttle+ 


shuttle+
On the rare occasion that I’m not using Spotify and I want to listen to the music I have downloaded on my phone, Shuttle+ is my favorite. I have to be honest, this choice is purely due to design, as are a lot of my picks, but there are still some quality features to keep you interested. With Shuttle+, you can make playlists, add songs to your favorites, and even make it so your music stops playing when you unplug your headphones. You can also change the theme and accent colors of your interface to a variety of colors. If you are looking for a music player with material design, look no further than Shuttle+.

Link to Play Store

Google Keep


googlekeep
Google keep is app without a lot the bells and whistles you would find in apps such as Evernote or Wunderlist, but that’s what’s great about it. If there is something you want to make a note of just type it in Keep and boom, you’re done. You can assign colors to your notes and even create tags in order to categorize your notes. While I do use Evernote for more detailed notes such as project plan layouts and blog ideas, it’s Keep’s simplicity that’s makes it so crucial to my daily routine.

Link to Play Store

ComicRack


comicrack

If you don’t care about comics, just skip this entry.

Finding a quality app for reading comics on Android was difficult for me. The main thing I wanted out of the app was a desktop version to sync with my nexus tablet. That’s what sold me on ComicRack. You can buy your digital comics on your laptop, add them to the free ComicRack desktop version, and sync the two apps together with a USB cable. Also, if pay for the upgraded version, you can sync your comics over Wi-fi. ComicRack is also very customizable when it comes to how you actually read your comics. You can decide whether to have page borders or not, decide the page animations, adjust brightness levels, and you can set it up where as soon as you open the app, it’ll go to the last comic you were reading.

Link to Play Store

Airdroid


airdroid
While we’re on the subject of syncing devices, let’s talk about the best app to do that on android, which is Airdroid. With this, you can sync anything from apps to music between your desktop and mobile devices wirelessly. All you have to do is make an account and you’re good to go.

Link to Play Store

PushBullet


Pushbullet
For those who don’t know, Pushbullet is an app that allows you to send any file under 25 MB between any device or browser that has the app installed. What differentiates itself from an app like Airdroid is the fact that PushBullet sends the file in a matter of seconds, which is extremely useful. Whether I’m sending a photo, a document, or an article link, the speed of Pushbullet makes it a must-have for any Android user. 

Link to Play Store

Action Launcher 3


actionlauncher
Anytime I get an android device, the first thing I do is download Action launcher from the play store because it’s that good. The best part of Action Launcher is how easy it is to find the app you’re looking for thanks to the launcher having a built-in drawer that has all the apps in alphabetical order. Action Launcher also allows you to create folders out of your apps and make one of the apps the cover for that particular folder. I know there are other launchers out there that people love such as Nova, Apex, or the Google Now launcher, but Action Launcher has always been the one that fit my needs perfectly.

Link to Play Store


Honorable Mentions

Quick Pic
Google Camera
Weather Timeline


 

