The Top 5 new shows I’m excited for this year

5FALLTVSHOWSheader

There are a lot of TV shows premiering this year and for most people, it’s hard to tell which shows you should watch and care about. Because of that, I decided to list the top 5 shows I’m looking forward to this year and hopefully this can help you avoid a lot of the crap that’s going to premiere over the next 6 months.


5. Supergirl (CBS, Monday, 8:30, Oct. 26)

supergirl

Since I’m a huge fan of CW’s The Flash and Arrow, I’m excited for another superhero coming to TV. Despite the shows’ trailer and pilot not being well-received, I’m going to give the show the benefit of the doubt. After watching the pilot, I wasn’t impressed but I know that a lot of pilot episodes are usually mediocre due to the network trying to fit too much into one episode.


4. Life In Pieces (CBS, Monday, 8:30, Sept. 21)

LIFE IN PIECES is CBS's new single camera comedy about one big happy family and their sometimes awkward, often hilarious and ultimately beautiful milestone moments as told by its various members. Pictured L-R, Top Row: Dan Bakkedahl as Tim, Betsy Brandt as Heather, Colin Hanks as Greg, Zoe Lister Jones as Jen, Thomas Sadoski as Matt and Angelique Cabral as Colleen; Pictured L-R, Bottom Row: Holly Barrett as Samantha, Niall Cunningham as Tyler, Giselle Eisenberg as Sophia, James Brolin as John and Diane Wiest as Joan Photo: Cliff Lipson/CBS ©2015 CBS Broadcasting, Inc. All Rights Reserved

After watching three seconds of this trailer, my initial thought was that this show is just going to be a knock-off of Modern Family, but after watching the entire trailer, I realized that it was something a little different. While there are similarities between the two, Life in Pieces has a few aspects that separate it from its ABC counterpart and the show looks very promising.


3. Heroes Reborn (NBC, Thursday, 8:00, Sept. 24)

I never watched Heroes when it was on NBC the first time around, but I heard a lot of great things…about the first season anyway. I figured why not jump on the Heroes bandwagon early and start watching Heroes Reborn when it premieres this fall. Also, I have to support Zachary Levi because he is awesome.


2. The Muppets (ABC, Tuesday, 8:00, Sept. 22)

muppets2

When I first heard that ABC was making a show centered around the Muppets, I didn’t really care. I assumed it was going to be a show for kids that the whole family could watch as well. Once I watched the trailer and realized the show is actually for adults, I was sold. If the show is anything close to what the trailer is, this could be the breakout hit of the year!


1. Legends of Tomorrow (CW, January?)

legends

Like I said earlier, I’m a big fan of the CW and all of its superhero shows. Which is why Legends of Tomorrow is at the top of my list. Not only is it another superhero show on the CW—which is what they’re good at—but characters from both The Flash and Arrow will appear on the show from time to time. Also, the producers of the show said to think of Legends of Tomorrow as “10 one hour movies” instead of a regular show, which sounds amazing.


What new TV shows are you excited for this year? Let me know in the comments!

