iZombie cooks up the perfect blend of humor and suspense.

izombiefoodblog

One of my most popular posts involved me talking about how iZombie was one of the best shows last season, so I thought I would quickly talk about it again.

For those who don’t know, iZombie is about Olivia “Liv” Moore who is turned into a zombie while attending a boat party. To cope with her new appetite for brains, Liv takes a job at the King County morgue and shares her secret with her boss, Dr. Ravi Chakrabarti. In order for Liv to survive, Ravi encourages her to eat the brains of murder victims whose bodies are delivered to the morgue.

Throughout its first season, I didn’t even pay attention to the show and it wasn’t until I read an article over on AV Club about how great the series was that convinced me to give it a shot. The article talked about how a lot of people wrote the show off because it was on the CW-which I did-and how it was one of the better series to premiere last year. If I hadn’t read that article from AV Club, this show wouldn’t have ever crossed my mind, which would have been bad since this is now one of my favorite shows on TV right now.

izombiecastmid

What’s made iZombie one of my favorite shows on Television is the way it can seamlessly move between comedy and drama at any given time. Being able to switch the tone of the show at any given moment and still make it believable-as believable as a show about zombies is going to be-is not an easy thing to do. It is something that many shows have tried to do, but few have actually achieved it. For a series in only its second season to have this much confidence in itself is nothing short of remarkable.

The first season of the show is available on Netflix so the next time you’re looking for a new show to binge-watch, iZombie is honestly one of the best choices.

