The Lazy Game of Thrones Recap: Everyone Hates Olly

603jonfhead

Normally when I watch Game of Thrones, I’m rarely satisfied by the ending of each episode. Not because the endings are bad, but because each episode usually ends with a cliffhanger that leaves you wanting more; but not this week. After “Oathbreaker” ended, I was smiling from ear to ear for a number of reasons, but we’ll get to that later. We have a lot to go through so no more wasting time. The Lannister’s go on a rampage, Rickon is screwed, Arya can see, and F*** Olly.


Arya: We finally get some much needed progress in this Arya storyline. I was starting to get a little sick of the whole “Arya gets beat up” montage and thankfully, this week appears to be the last time they’re doing it (I hope). My favorite part of these scenes was hearing Arya shed some light on her decision to not kill the Hound and leave him for dead. She didn’t fully answer the question, but what I gathered from the conversation was that is that she really started to like the Hound, which everyone already knew anyway.

603aryaf

As far as Arya saying she is “no one,” I’m 50/50 on whether or not Arya is being truthful about being “no one” or if she is just going along with it so she can continue the training. Since Arya is my favorite on this show, I don’t want her to lose her personality and I’m hoping that all of this is just a trick.

Daenerys: We meet back up with Dany and all of her smugness as she finally meets the Real housewives of Dothraki. Dany assumed that because she is the widow of Khal Drogo, she’s automatically going to be allowed to stay with them. However, she finds out that it was forbidden for her abandon the Dothraki after the death of the Khal so she might not be staying there after all. All I know is if I have to hear her say she’s the Mother of Dragons one more time, I’m seriously going to snap…

King’s Landing: I enjoyed the hell out of what we got from the Lannister crew this week. Even though they didn’t have much to do, Jaime and Cersei made the most out of the few scenes they had. Hearing Cersei go into detail about how she wants to know if anyone is speaking negatively about her was great because she’s quickly turning back into the Cersei I love to hate. I’m so happy that the O.G. Olenna Tyrell is back in King’s Landing because as I’ve said in numerous recaps, she’s one of the few people who can go toe-to-toe with Cersei and live to tell the tale. Her joke about Cersei being confused about who’s the queen because of her incestuous relationship with Jaime was priceless and I hope she sticks around for a while.

603klandf

It was also good seeing Tommen finally grow a backbone and stand up for her mother when talking to the High Sparrows. Even though he did stand up for her, it appears that Tommen is getting manipulated once again which doesn’t surprise me because he’s been getting manipulated by everyone he talks to since season 3.

Sam: Sam threw up a lot.

Bran: Bran using his power to go back in time last week was a highlight for me and I was happy the show decided to have him do it again this week. This time, he sees his dad with Howland Reed in search for his sister, Lyanna. He then proceeds to get in a fight with Ser Arthur Dayne which ends with Reed stabbing him in the back of the neck. After the battle is over, screams are heard coming from the tower and then Bran is brought back to present time. If you would have told me that Bran’s part on this show would be some of my favorite moments of the season so far, I would have thought you were crazy. If this keeps up, I wouldn’t mind if Bran shows up in every episode.

Meereen: It’s been a while since we’ve gotten to see Varys doing what he does best which is manipulating people to get the information he needs. When he was talking to the woman who conspired against Daenerys with the Sons of the Harpy, it reminded me of the Varys from King’s Landing who was always 20 steps ahead of everyone else.

Speaking of Tyrion, him trying to play a drinking game with Greyworm and Missandei was probably the funniest thing in this episode and I would love to see more interactions between those three simply because of how different their personalities are.

Ramsay: After killing Papa Bolton last week, Ramsay starts trying to stack up his army by finding other houses to join House Bolton. When the one of the Bannermen tells Ramsay that he needs help stopping Jon Snow and the Wildlings, Ramsay agrees in exchange for his house swearing loyalty to House Bolton. The Bannerman declines in hilarious fashion and instead brings him Rickon Stark. Now, I don’t know or remember much about Rickon because seriously, who cares? But, it’s safe to say that him and that girl (I’m really bad with names) are pretty f***** right now.

Castle Black: I’m just going to cut to the chase. This was one of the most satisfying endings to any Game of Thrones episode that I can remember. As much as I, and many others, hated Olly and Mcalister, it felt SO good to see them get what they deserved.

FUCK YOU!!!

FUCK YOU!!!

It almost scares me out how much I enjoyed seeing the two of them hanging from that rope, but I’ll get over it. That wasn’t the only reason that this episode’s ending was so satisfying. What also made it amazing was that because Jon Snow died, he technically doesn’t have to be at Castle Black anymore which is great because now we can possibly see Jon Snow kill Ramsay or am I just wishing too hard? I’m not sure if the show mentioned where Jon Snow is going to go next, but I really want him to see at least ONE of his siblings. That’s not too much to ask is it?

See you next week…


Random Thoughts

  • I really want to get a T-Shirt that says “Your father was a cunt.”
  • Am I the only one who hates that girl with the stick?
  • I wonder where Gendry is right now…

Let me know how you felt about this episode in the comments below and don’t forget to like this post if you enjoyed it!

