My Game of Thrones Review: That damn door!

Game of Thrones "The Door" review

I decided to do a review of Game of Thrones this week as opposed to a recap. The reason I’m doing this is because I feel that a review will have more of a “flow” to it. If I don’t like it, I’ll go back to recaps next week 🙂


We might as well begin with the big moment that everyone will be talking about. Usually when a major character dies, it’s either shocking or a relief depending on the person. But, seeing Hodor sacrifice his life for Bran was neither shocking nor a relief; it was heartbreaking. What makes it even worse is that we finally find out the origin of his name and why “Hodor” was the only thing he can say. Bran being the sole reason that so many people died will be hard for him to cope with and I’m interested to see how he does it. 

On a somewhat brighter note, I wanted to take a moment to talk about Daenerys. For about two seasons now, Daenerys has been one my least favorite characters on the show. The reason for that is because since she has her dragons and loyal followers, she’s never in any real danger. The lack of suspense around her character makes her scenes a little dull and even pointless. Another thing is that I had become annoyed with her smug attitude as of late. I don’t mind characters being arrogant, but when that’s all that you do, it gets old fast. But this week was the first time in a long time that her character actually  resonated with me.

Game of Thrones review: "The Door"

I love Dany now…

Seeing her emotional farewell to Jorah after he confessed his feelings to her showed a vulnerable side of Dany that I wasn’t used to seeing. That scene made her feel more like an actual person, and not just an unburnt women with three big ass dragons. Anyway, as of right now, I’m back on Team Daenerys.

Most of the other scenes in this week’s episode were more or less uneventful. The only scene of note was a tense scene between Littlefinger and Sansa. It has been great seeing the growth in Sansa’s character and seeing her be able to take some control over her life. I’m not sure how I feel about her lying to Jon Snow, but I’ll forgive it for the time being.

While we’re on the topic of the Stark daughters, let’s talk about the other one. I’ve been  disappointed with the lack of progression with Arya this season. The majority of the time we’ve spent with her has been fighting montages and that’s about it. Although, it appears that the show is moving on from that as Arya has finally received a mission to complete.

Game of Thrones Review: "The Door"

Arya has been getting beating up a lot lately…

Listen, I understand there’s many characters and storylines to juggle, but Arya is my favorite character and I need to see her training progress faster than it currently is.

Another person who has been underwhelming this season is Tyrion. He’s second on my list of favorites, which is why watching him and Arya’s storylines move at such a sluggish pace has been torture this season.

Minor complaints aside, this was another solid installment for the season that ended on a gut-punch that none of us will forget anytime soon.


If you enjoyed this review, don’t forget to follow my blog and hit the like button!

