Is VRV the right streaming service for you?

For those who don’t know, VRV is a relatively new streaming service that provides anime, gaming, and comedy content in various bundles and add-ons. 

The biggest draw of VRV right now is their $10 subscription known as the “Combo Pack.” With that $10 dollars, you get premium subscriptions to channels such as:

  • Crunchyroll
  • Funimation
  • Rooster Teeth
  • Geek & Sundry
  • Nerdist
  • Cartoon Hangover
  • Mondo
  • Tested

That’s a lot of content for just 10 bucks. Crunchyroll and Funimation would’ve been enough for my 10 dollars, but the fact that I’m also getting Rooster Teeth and Cartoon Hangover makes this a no-brainer for anime and nerd fans in general. VRV provides other channels as well such as Seeso, Shudder, and Machinima as well. You can pick and choose which channels you want to pay for but the “Combo Pack” is the cheapest option currently available. Personally, I like the idea of having the option to only pay for channels you want. I hope we get to a point where this is available on other streaming platforms as well.

I’ve been using VRV on-and-off for the better part of 6 months and I’m really enjoying the content that’s on there. I’ve discovered a few shows that I wouldn’t have known about without using VRV like Bravest Warriors and Bee & PuppyCat. The UI is very aesthetically pleasing and makes it easy to find the show you are looking for. Also, being able to find and add shows to a “watchlist” helps me keep track of the shows I care about and not have to search for that same show everytime a new episode is released.

While VRV has been great for me, I do have a few gripes with it. One of my issues with VRV is that you can only link your premium account with Crunchyroll right now. In case you’re unaware, linking your VRV premium account with Crunchyroll allows you to utilize Crunchyroll premium features on their website as well as on VRV’S site. Being able to use both websites is very useful and I wish I could link my VRV account with some of the other channels like Funimation, Rooster Teeth, and Geek & Sundry.

My other issue is with a few bugs the service has. For example, the Android (Android ARMY!) app will just randomly crash and that happens on the PS4 app as well. Now again, VRV is relatively new so I’m sure these problems will be ironed out in the future but as of right now, they’re really bothersome.

Overall, while the streaming service does have a few hiccups to work out, getting 8 premium accounts for $10 was too good for me to pass up. If you’re interested in trying out the service first before buying anything, you can get a free 7-day trial by clicking here.

PS: If you’re a anime fan, I just recently discovered another LEGAL streaming website called HIDIVE that has lots of anime on their site that you can stream for free or you can pay $4 for their premium content as well. If you want to check it out, click here.  My personal opinion is that this seems like a good option for anime fans who are a little strapped for cash.


If you enjoyed this post, don’t forget to leave a LIKE and SUBSCRIBE to stay up to date with my blog.

